Archived edition. This is the September 2026 edition exactly as published. Its figures are its own and will not change. The current edition is at orcpin.com/research; all editions are listed at the bottom of it.

← Orcpin  ·  Orcpin Research · Monthly Snapshot

The Agent Economy: Purchasing vs. Watching

September 2026 edition, published September 1, 2026 · every figure on this page comes from one read of the catalog and one check of the fleet, both dated September 1 · repeated monthly

When an AI agent visits a paid service, it does one of three things. Some visitors are watchers: crawlers, indexers, and security scanners that have no way to pay. Some are evaluators: agents that ask what the service costs and then walk away. A few are purchasers: wallets that actually pay. The middle group matters more than it looks. An evaluator may well have money and still decline, because its instructions don't allow a purchase at that price or for that purpose. You can only tell a funded wallet from an empty one at the moment it pays, so the three groups are defined by what they do, not what they hold — and a low rate of sales is a mix of agents that can't pay and agents that chose not to. Most published numbers lump all three together. This report measures the split. It reads every listing in the largest public catalog of pay-per-use services for agents, checks daily whether those services still answer, records the mix of visitors at Orcpin's own services, and maps the payment networks the wallets use. This is the third full read of the catalog and the second published edition, so for the first time the report can show movement rather than a still frame. Everything here is a count or a cited fact; nothing is advice. Sources are listed at the end.

The month in four numbers

14,913
services listed in the catalog
August: 14,595 · up 2%
281,361
paid requests across the catalog, 30 days
August: 376,311 · down 25%
+20%
paid requests, once web search is set aside
167,583 → 200,661
74%
listings with one paying wallet or none
August: 73%

The Short Version: More Listings, Fewer Purchases, and One Category Explains It

The catalog stopped shrinking. After falling from 25,529 listings in July to 14,595 in August, it grew a little, to 14,913 in September, and the number of sellers rose with it, from 1,094 to 1,127. On the supply side, things are steady.

Purchases went the other way. Paid requests across the whole catalog fell from 376,311 to 281,361 over comparable 30-day windows, a drop of 25%, and our estimate of total sales at the listed prices fell from about $40K to $32K. More listings, more sellers, a quarter fewer purchases.

That drop is not spread across the catalog. It is one category. Paid requests to web-search and scraped-data services fell from 208,728 to 80,700 — a loss of 128,028 requests, which is more than the catalog's entire net decline. Set web search aside, and the rest of the catalog grew, from 167,583 paid requests to 200,661, up 20%. One category was carrying the measured economy in August, it shrank by 61% in a month, and that shrinkage is the whole story behind the headline number. Anyone quoting a catalog-wide total for this market without that breakdown will read a downturn where the measured fact is much narrower.

Three reads of the same catalog

What we countedJuly 16August 5September 1
Services listed25,52914,59514,913
Distinct sellers1,1171,0941,127
Paid requests in the prior 30 days313,580376,311281,361
Paid requests, web search set aside—167,583200,661
Listings with no purchases at all42.7%0.8%0.6%
Listings with one paying wallet or none—73.0%73.8%
Estimated 30-day sales at listed prices—$39,982$32,208
Typical listed price per request—$0.01$0.01

August's reading was that the catalog got smaller and cleaner while activity grew, which looked like dead listings being pruned rather than sellers leaving. September revises that: the pruning stopped and the catalog resumed slow growth, but the rise in activity did not hold. Taken together, the two months suggest the July-to-August jump in purchases was concentrated enough in one category to reverse within a month — a caution against reading any single month's direction as a trend. Only repeated monthly reads can show this. One snapshot cannot, and two are barely enough.

The Payment Networks Agents Use

Agents no longer pay through one system. By mid-2026 every major payment company has launched or announced a way for agents to pay. The systems differ in who holds the money and in what an outsider can see. Each status below is a dated public announcement, not a judgment of how mature the system is.

Card networks: a person lends the agent their card

SystemWho runs itHow money movesStatus (with source)Can an outsider measure it?
Link agent wallet, Shared Payment Tokens, Issuing for agentsStripecard payments; single-use virtual cards with limitsannounced at Stripe Sessions 2026 (Stripe blog, docs)no public usage data per service
Machine Payments Protocol on TempoStripeTempo, a blockchain Stripe incubated; batches tiny paymentslive March 2026 (Forbes, Mar 2026)the blockchain is public, and the mpp.dev directory lists 142 services with prices but publishes no usage per service. Corrected September 8: the September 1 edition said there was no directory.
Visa Intelligent Commerce / Visa Payment PasskeysVisacard payments with a stand-in credential instead of the real card numberreal purchases made by agents at merchants in Europe, with 30+ participating banks, July 2026 (Visa press; Payment Expert, Jul 2, 2026)no usage data per service
Agent Pay + Verifiable IntentMastercardcard payments with agent-specific credentials; the up-to-$1.8B purchase of BVNK adds digital-dollar settlement, completed Aug 3, 2026 (Mastercard press)rolling out through 2026no

Digital-dollar networks: the agent holds its own wallet

SystemWho runs itHow money movesStatus (with source)Can an outsider measure it?
x402Coinbase + Cloudflare; the x402 Foundation (Linux Foundation)USDC, a dollar-pegged digital token, on the Base and Solana blockchains; the service quotes a price in the web response itselfthe Foundation launched July 14–15, 2026 with Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Stripe, Adyen, Fiserv, Shopify, Google, AWS, Cloudflare, Circle, and Ripple as premier members (Linux Foundation press)yes — the only system with an open catalog of services and payments recorded on a public blockchain
Bedrock AgentCore PaymentsAWS + Coinbasex402 underneathannounced 2026 (Coinbase blog); CloudFront support for x402 is generally availablethrough x402's public surfaces
Pay-per-crawl + x402 gatewayCloudflarecharges for web requests at Cloudflare's edge, using x402applications for the gateway opened July 1, 2026totals only
L402Lightning communityBitcoin's Lightning network, with the price quoted in the web responsea published spec with a few small deploymentspartly — Lightning hides most activity by design

Who is this agent? Identity checks that ride on top of any network

SystemWho runs itHow money movesStatus (with source)Can an outsider measure it?
KYAPay / Know-Your-Agent credentialsSkyfire (with Experian's framework; Fastly verifies at the edge)works on top of any network; a signed identity travels with each requestdraft internet standard, March 2026 (draft-skyfire-kyapayprofile)the credential can be checked; how many are used is not published
AP2 mandates / Verifiable IntentGoogle / Mastercardworks on top: a signed record of what the person authorizedspecs published; adoption in progressno
Endpoint reliability factsOrcpin (the publisher of this report)works on top of x402: free checks that a service still answers, plus paid checks that it delivers, sold per requestlive since June 2026 (published method)yes — the measured facts are summarized in this report

Closed platforms: the platform holds everything

SystemWho runs itHow money movesStatus (with source)Can an outsider measure it?
Agentic Commerce Protocol (ACP)OpenAI + Stripecard payments; originally checkout inside the chat windowthe in-chat Instant Checkout feature was withdrawn in March 2026 after about six months, over reported conversion results; the protocol itself is still published and was extended toward product discovery (Forbes, Mar 10, 2026)no
UCP / Agentic CheckoutGooglecheckout inside Google's platformQ2 2026 (Q2 2026 10-platform matrix)no
Shopify Agents · Amazon Buy for Me · Klarna Agent Modethe respective platformsclosed; only approved merchantsQ2 2026 (same matrix)no

Two things follow from that last column. First, x402 is the only system whose list of services and whose payments are open for anyone to measure, which is why the rest of this report can exist at all; every other system publishes announcements, not populations. Second, every one of them has separately arrived at this report's exact question — how do you tell an agent that can spend money from a bot that only looks? The card networks answer it with identity credentials and passkey approvals; x402 answers it with per-service counts of paying wallets. The mechanisms differ; the dividing line is the same.

The ACP row deserves a closer look. The most-publicized agent checkout of 2025 was withdrawn in March 2026 for lack of conversions while its underlying standard stayed in place. That is the same gap this report measures on the x402 side, where listings and standards pile up faster than purchases.

The Three Groups, Measured at Orcpin's Own Services

Orcpin sells pay-per-request services on x402, which makes it a measuring point: every visitor is sorted into a coarse class and nothing else is kept — no addresses, no request details, no identities (see /privacy). The chart shows each group's share of Orcpin's daily visits, for the 13 days ending August 31, next to the same figure from the August edition. Shares rather than counts are deliberate: the shape of the funnel is the finding, and one seller's sales volume is private.

Who visits Orcpin's paid services — share of daily requests, August vs. September
AugustSeptemberwatcherscrawlers, indexers, scannerswatchers · August: 74%74%watchers · September: 66%66%evaluatorsasked the price, didn't buyevaluators · August: 26%26%evaluators · September: 34%34%purchaserspaidpurchasers · August: <0.1%<0.1%purchasers · September: <0.1%<0.1%
Watchers are crawlers, indexers, uptime checkers, and vulnerability scanners, plus automated reads of the free catalog pages. Evaluators asked a paid service for its price and terms and did not buy. Asking is free, so this group mixes agents with no money and agents with money whose rules said no. Purchasers paid. Their share of visits is below one in a thousand in both months, and the number of paid requests is not disclosed. September shares are daily averages over August 19–31; August shares are daily averages over July 22 to August 4.

More than 999 of every 1,000 daily visits still involve no money. The watchers still include hundreds of daily attempts to fetch /.env and similar secret files, which is background internet noise every public server sees and has nothing to do with agents at all. The change this month is in the evaluators: their share rose from 26% to 34%. That is not because more agents asked for prices — those requests were roughly flat at about 1,650 a day — but because automated reads of the free catalog pages dropped sharply while crawler traffic stayed level. The mix changed; the actual rate of price-checking did not. Either way, money only enters the picture at the moment of payment, and paying remains by far the rarest thing on the chart. One seller is one sample; the survey below shows the same shape across the whole catalog.

Every Listing in the Catalog

On September 1 we read every listing in the CDP Bazaar, the public catalog of x402 services, along with Coinbase's own figures for how much each was used in the prior 30 days. This is the whole listed population, not a sample. The three-month table above holds the headline totals; the charts below show how those totals are distributed, and how that distribution moved since August.

How many different wallets paid each listing in 30 days — August vs. September
AugustSeptember02,5005,0007,50010,000no paying wallet · August: 121no paying wallet · September: 9393no paying wallet1 wallet · August: 10,5381 wallet · September: 10,90910,9091 wallet2–5 · August: 3,4982–5 · September: 3,3973,3972–56–20 · August: 2766–20 · September: 4004006–2021+ · August: 16421+ · September: 11411421+
The paying layer stayed thin and got slightly thinner: 74% of listings were paid by one wallet or none over 30 days, up from 73% in August, and only 514 listings (3%) were paid by more than five. Within that small tail the shape shifted — listings with 6 to 20 paying wallets rose from 276 to 400, while listings with 21 or more fell from 164 to 114. Source: Coinbase's own per-listing count of distinct paying wallets over the prior 30 days, read on September 1 and on August 5.

Do customers come back?

Paid requests per paying wallet, for listings with at least two paying wallets — August vs. September
AugustSeptember05001,0001,5002,000about 1 (≤1.2) · August: 1,410about 1 (≤1.2) · September: 1,1381,138about 1 (≤1.2)1.2–3 · August: 1,6231.2–3 · September: 1,9041,9041.2–33–20 · August: 7223–20 · September: 6996993–2020–100 · August: 15520–100 · September: 13113120–100100+ · August: 28100+ · September: 3939100+
Dividing a listing's paid requests by its number of paying wallets separates repeat use, where the same wallet keeps coming back, from one-time use, where many wallets each pay about once. In September, 972 listings show repeat use (3 or more requests per wallet) and together they account for 165,859 of the month's paid requests. At the other end, 26 listings drew 50 or more wallets that each paid about once, totaling 14,745 requests. The definitions are published with the data file.

This is the month's second breakdown, and it points the same way as the first. The number of repeat-use listings barely moved (1,008 to 972), but the requests they carried fell 41%, from 282,049 to 165,859 — so repeat business fell faster than the catalog as a whole. Meanwhile the one-time-use listings grew their requests 55%, from 9,509 to 14,745, on essentially the same 25 or so listings. Repeat use went from 75% of all paid requests to 59% in one month.

The one-time pattern matters because the catalog ranks services by how many different wallets have paid them. That rewards being touched once by many wallets over being used repeatedly by a few — an incentive the academic literature has described in general form (TraceRank, arXiv 2510.27554). We publish the distribution and the definitions. Whenever you see a count of paying wallets, here or anywhere, the requests-per-wallet figure belongs beside it.

What Sells, by Category

Paid requests in 30 days by category — August vs. September
AugustSeptemberweb search & scraped data1,837 listingsweb search & scraped data · August: 208,728208,728web search & scraped data · September: 80,70080,700blockchain data5,568 listingsblockchain data · August: 56,35056,350blockchain data · September: 60,02460,024other1,261 listingsother · August: 43,02943,029other · September: 59,12659,126prices & trading2,985 listingsprices & trading · August: 27,59327,593prices & trading · September: 37,72237,722AI model calls1,103 listingsAI model calls · August: 14,33614,336AI model calls · September: 17,53217,532infrastructure & compute520 listingsinfrastructure & compute · August: 6,1726,172infrastructure & compute · September: 7,8377,837people & company lookups519 listingspeople & company lookups · August: 5,7455,745people & company lookups · September: 7,5837,583social media data311 listingssocial media data · August: 7,5177,517social media data · September: 3,3153,315images, audio & video323 listingsimages, audio & video · August: 2,9602,960images, audio & video · September: 3,0153,015goods & gift cards232 listingsgoods & gift cards · August: 2,0632,063goods & gift cards · September: 2,3142,314file storage137 listingsfile storage · August: 737737file storage · September: 1,5491,549travel117 listingstravel · August: 1,0811,081travel · September: 644644
Each listing is placed in a category by keywords in its name, description, and tags; the rules are published with the data file. Web search and scraped data still lead, but no longer dominate: their paid requests fell 61% in a month, from 208,728 to 80,700, bringing them within reach of blockchain data for the first time.

The catalog keeps confirming the same picture of demand, and this month's movement sharpens it rather than overturning it: what sells is what an agent cannot get without paying someone. That means web and social data behind paywalls, lookups of people and companies, compute and execution, and real-world goods. What does not sell is data an agent can fetch for free from any public blockchain node. The blockchain-data category now holds 5,568 listings, more than a third of the catalog, and receives 21% of paid requests — a bigger share than in August, but only because the total shrank; its own request count rose modestly, from 56,350 to 60,024. Supply is still concentrated exactly where demand is thinnest.

Two category movements are worth stating plainly because they cut against the headline. Prices and trading rose from 27,593 to 37,722 requests on a growing set of listings, and AI model calls rose from 14,336 to 17,532. The keyword rules also moved a large block: the people-and-company-lookup category fell from 1,186 listings to 519, which reflects a change in how listings describe themselves as much as a change in what exists. Read category listing counts with that caveat.

The Services That Never Take Part

Beneath the usage layer is a simpler question: does the service still answer at all? Some listed services will never see a purchase because nothing is there any more. Every day we send free test requests to roughly 500 listed services — asking for the price is free — rotating through a growing list that stood at 2,167 services on September 1, up from 1,425 in August:

What the daily check found — August 4 (500 services) vs. September 1 (494 services)
August 4 · 500August 4 · 500 · healthy: 213 (43%)43%August 4 · 500 · too few samples yet: 259 (52%)52%August 4 · 500 · flagged: failing or overdue: 28 (6%)September 1 · 494September 1 · 494 · healthy: 231 (47%)47%September 1 · 494 · too few samples yet: 162 (33%)33%September 1 · 494 · flagged: failing or overdue: 101 (20%)20%healthytoo few samples yetflagged: failing or overdue
Each bar is one day's check. Healthy means the service answered correctly. Too few samples means we have checked it fewer than five times, not enough to say. Flagged means it failed, kept failing, or is overdue for a re-check. These are recorded states, never a score. The flagged share rose from 6% of the August check to 20% of this one, mostly services overdue for re-checking, because the list of services grew faster than the daily budget of test requests. Definitions are at orcpin.dev/methodology.

How Big Is This Economy?

The one figure in this report that is a dollar total — about $32K of sales across the listed catalog in 30 days, down from about $40K in August — is the smallest of four very different ways of counting the same month. The three larger tiers (as reported on dashboards, verifiable on the public ledger, and after fake volume is removed) come from an independent March 2026 analysis and do not change from edition to edition, so they are not reprinted here. The standing reading guide — the four tiers side by side, what to take seriously, and what to take lightly — lives on the methodology page. Read this report's total against that scale, not on its own.

How We Measured

  • Catalog read: we fetched every page of api.cdp.coinbase.com/platform/v2/x402/discovery/resources (100 listings per page, 150 pages) on September 1, 2026, and removed duplicate URLs. Per-listing 30-day usage figures are Coinbase's own quality fields, copied rather than audited. The August 5 read used the identical recipe (146 pages), as did the internal July 16 read (256 pages).
  • Sales estimate: 30-day paid requests multiplied by the listed price from accepts[].amount, leaving out listings priced above $1,000 per request. It overstates real revenue wherever a request was made but never paid for.
  • Month-to-month figures compare the September 1 and August 5 reads directly. The reads are 27 days apart and each carries Coinbase's trailing 30-day window, so consecutive editions overlap slightly; changes show direction, not a clean partition of time.
  • Visitor mix: coarse visitor classes at Orcpin's own servers (crawler / agent / price check / paid), daily averages over August 19 to August 31 — 13 complete days, the full retention window of the daily counters — compared with July 22 to August 4 for the August edition. No addresses, request details, or user agents are stored; only the class is kept (/privacy).
  • Daily check: free test requests to 494 services in the September 1 run, rotating through a list of 2,167; the states and per-service facts are documented at orcpin.dev/methodology#endpoint_reliability.
  • Coverage: the catalog we read is Coinbase's, which is centered on the Base blockchain with 272 Solana listings across two network identifiers. Networks without open catalogs cannot be read this way, and that asymmetry is itself a finding.
  • One edition, one dataset: every figure on this page — the tiles, the charts, and the words — comes from the single September 1 catalog read and the single September 1 daily check, and nothing on the page changes after publication. GET https://orcpin.dev/research.json publishes this edition's catalog figures alongside the current state of the daily check; that second part moves every day and will therefore drift from the September 1 run pinned here.
  • Disclosure: Orcpin sells x402 services, including the reliability checks described here; this page is measurement of a public system by a participant in it.

Orcpin returns counts, dates, and dollars, with the governing rules quoted. It never gives advice and never assigns a score. This report is measurement of a public system, not financial, legal, or investment guidance. See /terms for acceptable use.

Calculations

Every number on this page is either quoted from a cited source or computed from the catalog rows with one of the formulas below. The data file keeps one row per listing, carrying Coinbase's own 30-day figures: payers (quality.l30DaysUniquePayers, distinct paying wallets), calls (quality.l30DaysTotalCalls, paid requests), and the listed price (accepts[0].amount, in millionths of a dollar, so USD = amount ÷ 1,000,000). The machine-readable summary with these same buckets is generated by npm run census.

NumberHow it is calculatedInputs / result
14,913 listingsThe catalog's own pagination.total at read time. Removing duplicate URLs leaves the same 14,913 rows this month (August had two duplicate URLs); every distribution figure uses the de-duplicated rows.14,913 reported · 14,913 unique
1,127 sellersCount of distinct accepts[0].payTo addresses across all rows.1,127
281,361 paid requestsSum of calls over all rows.281,361
Down 25% from August(281,361 − 376,311) ÷ 376,311, against the August 5 read.−94,950 · −25.2%
Up 20% with web search set asideTotal paid requests minus the search category's, per edition: September 281,361 − 80,700; August 376,311 − 208,728.167,583 → 200,661 · +19.7%
74% with one paying wallet or noneRows with payers ≤ 1, divided by all rows: 11,002 ÷ 14,913.73.8%
Paying-wallet chartRows bucketed by payers: exactly 0, exactly 1, 2–5, 6–20, 21 and over. Buckets sum to 14,913. August, same buckets: 121 · 10,538 · 3,498 · 276 · 164 (sum 14,597).93 · 10,909 · 3,397 · 400 · 114
≈$32K in salesSum of calls × price over rows with a listed price of $1,000 per request or less (the cap removes placeholder prices).$32,208 over 14,579 rows
$0.01 typical priceMedian of price over the 14,672 rows with a nonzero listed price.$0.01
3,911 listings with 2+ paying walletsRows with payers ≥ 2; the ratio below is undefined at 0 wallets and uninformative at 1.3,397 + 400 + 114
Requests-per-wallet chartFor each of those rows, ratio = calls ÷ payers, bucketed at ≤1.2, ≤3, ≤20, ≤100, and over 100. August, same buckets: 1,410 · 1,623 · 722 · 155 · 28 (sum 3,938).1,138 · 1,904 · 699 · 131 · 39
972 repeat-use listingsRows with payers ≥ 2 and ratio ≥ 3; their requests sum to 165,859, or 58.9% of all paid requests (August: 1,008 listings, 282,049 requests, 75.0%).972 · 165,859 requests
26 one-time-use listingsRows with payers ≥ 50 and ratio ≤ 1.2; their requests sum to 14,745 (August: 25 listings, 9,509 requests).26 · 14,745 requests
Category chartEach row takes the first matching category from an ordered keyword list applied to its name, description, tags, and URL (the ordered list is in scripts/census.ts); calls are then summed per category, for each edition.12 categories · 2 editions
Listings with no purchases, three editionsRows with calls = 0 divided by all rows, per edition: July 10,890 ÷ 25,529; August 121 ÷ 14,597; September 92 ÷ 14,913. (Rows with zero recorded requests; the 93 in the paying-wallet chart is the separate count of rows with zero paying wallets.)42.7% → 0.8% → 0.6%
Visitor shares (66% · 34% · <0.1%)Visitor-class counters summed over August 19 to August 31 and divided by 13, then expressed as shares of all daily visits. Watchers combine crawler-class visits (2,826/day, including unclassified) and automated catalog reads (427/day); evaluators are free price checks on paid services (1,647/day); purchasers are paid requests, whose share is below one visit in a thousand. August, same method over July 22 to August 4: 74% · 26% · <0.1% of ≈6,870 daily visits (crawlers 2,968/day, catalog reads 2,127/day, price checks 1,774/day). Paid-request counts are not disclosed.shares of ≈4,900 daily visits
Daily-check chart (231 · 162 · 101)From the September 1 check of 494 services: 231 answered correctly and 162 had fewer than five samples (too few to say); the remaining 101 = 494 − 231 − 162 carried a failure or overdue state. August 4, for comparison: 213 · 259 · 28 of 500.231 + 162 + 101 = 494

Sources